Toy Story

The last weekend in June, I spent all Saturday dressed up like Woody from Toy Story.

In case you hadn’t known, Arkansas gets hot in the middle of the summer (and summer started way back in May for us), and it isn’t exactly advisable to walk around outdoors in a stuffy foam head all day long. Luckily, there was a breeze that day, and my boss was nice enough to make sure I had frequent breaks so as not to contract sunstroke.

For the most part, I just stood there and looked cool and children would run up and tackle me. I’m not too fond of children, as anyone can tell you, but smiles tend to wipe away inborn prejudices… I’d have to admit I enjoyed it, particularly because of one child who I saw–a little who ran up to me shouting with mirth, screaming and hugging me with every ounce of strength in his body. He yelled, “I touched Toy Story!” and began a charming little dance to celebrate.

Joy is a great cleanser of hate.

~~La Stranezza

Say Anything

