510

Writer’s block is a terrible thing. For me, it’s not that I can’t come up with any words to put on paper–it’s only that none of them are good enough.

To combat this, instead of looking for what I’m trying to say, I look for how I’m trying to say it. There are a million ways to say one thing. One thing can be said a million ways. The possibilities are infinite, which is enough to drive anyone mad. But it is not the writer’s duty to go mad. It is the writer’s duty to discover the way that one thing needs to be said and to say it in that fashion. Even if you don’t know what it is you want to say, playing around with words, letting them flow from your fingertips like a spider’s silk, can bring about that epiphany.

So next time you don’t know what you’re looking for, don’t lament your lack of knowledge. Go with it, let the natural rhythms of the keyboard guide you, and even if you don’t end up where you meant to go, you might at least end up where you need to be.

~~La Stranezza

One thought on “510

  1. With rough drafts, I don’t care how I say it. I just put it down and then care when I get to the revisions. I just don’t like getting stuck. I hate rough drafts because the writing for me is so bad. But I love revisions because that is where the magic happens for me.

Say Anything

