Subtextual Definitions

Here’s the thing about kind of funny stories.
You have to understand that when I say it’s kind of a funny story, what I mean is “this story will embarrass me and show me as a flawed and tragicomically human character and I would really enjoy if you listened to it and still accepted me afterwards, although if you don’t then I quite understand because sometimes I don’t accept myself and so I paint a portrait of myself as being amused by my many flaws instead of being slowly destroyed by them and saying that it’s kind of a funny story when I really mean, ‘I’m a complete fuck-up, but don’t hold it against me.'”

~~La Stranezza

Say Anything

