Metablog

Today’s blog post is about blogging, which I get a real kick out of because I’m me. Whenever I see something metafictional or self-referential in the least, I fangirl and squee until my lungs burst. That’s just the way I roll.

Moving on: What I wanted to post about today was Hamlet again. But I didn’t, because I didn’t prewrite or anything and all the words got jumbled up in my head and I couldn’t figure out exactly what I wanted to post about. So I said, well, poop, because if I just post in my current state of mind it’s going end up exactly like Sunday’s post, which will be confusing for everyone involved.

So I decided instead to post about posting, or at least post about how I post.

When I post, one of two things will happen: I’ll either have a clear-cut idea in my head of my unified vision, and I’ll set out to make it, and it will be awesome; or I’ll not have a clear-cut idea in my head of my unified vision, and I’ll set out to make it, and it will be awesome, albeit incomprehensible. So for the most part I like to pre-plan (but not necessarily pre-write) my posts, because coherency is a good thing, so long as it’s not to excess.

Actually, I just lied to you. Sometimes, when I post, I won’t have a clear-cut idea, or I will have a clear-cut idea that takes on a mind of its own and all of a sudden I’ve gone on to this weird tangent about legos. That happens far more often than it probably should, because legos, as you all know, are incredibly sticky and if you try to take them apart with your mouth you can break your teeth. I remember one time that happened to me, when I was only six years old, and we were driving from Houston to Austin. I wasn’t a very smart six year old, but then again, that may have been for the best. I learned an important life lesson that day, which was: Don’t put anything in your mouth you can’t handle.

~~La Stranezza

Say Anything

