Comparative Time Loss (Twitter II)

As you all should know, I have a Twitter. Why should you all know this? Because I’m great and expect you all to stalk me. Also, I wrote a post about it a few weeks ago, and you should have all learned about it then.

I have a very peculiar theory about Twitter. You probably don’t want to hear it, but I’m going to tell it to you anyway.

Let’s compare three social media sites–Wordpress, Facebook, and Twitter.

WordPress is serious shit: You’re supposed to be coherent and non-rambly and make people think about things. Obviously, I don’t follow this rule, but it’s a rule nevertheless. It’s all about my emotions, and my opinions, and you should all listen to me. I follow this part a lot better.

Facebook, on the other hand, is rather trivial. Instead of being ME and MY FEELINGS and all that jazz, it’s about OMG MY CAT and ALL CAPS and HEY LET’S SHARE PICTURES OF CATS SAYING OMG IN ALL CAPS. Posts are shorter and more integrated. You don’t have to visit sixteen different domains to get updates–you just look at a magic wall of text. Also, because you have more to start with each person is expected to contribute less.

As different as they may seem, these two share one key element: Your posts can be as long as you want them to be. This is where Twitter is different–you only get 140 characters MAX. It’s a challenge in form; you have to try to say as much as you can in as few words as possible. –Not only do you have to make something that’s good, that people will like and retweet, you also have to make it as brief as an anorectic’s pair of underpants.

It’s harder than it looks.

~~La Stranezza

P.S. If you want to follow me, or at least check out my recent tweets: @theshelbster163.

Say Anything

