Why and Why Not?

My foot is asleep.

Why?

Because I’m sitting at my desk, still writing this post.

Why?

Because I didn’t get home till eight.

Why?

Because I drove my car like a madman to the rehearsal I didn’t need to be at.

Why?

Because I was misinformed.

Why?

Because I decided to believe a fourteen-year-old.

Why?

Because I didn’t have anyone else to believe.

Why?

Because–and I know this is hard to believe–I don’t have many friends.

Why?

Because maybe people just don’t like talking to me, or I don’t like talking to them.

Why?

Because I didn’t get enough love as a child.

Why?

Because…I don’t know. Maybe my parents tried their best, but I have some sort of brain damaged and it was doomed to fail before it even began.

Why?

Because sometimes these things just happen, and you can’t control them.

Why?

The universe isn’t in our control. We’re lucky if we can walk out the door and not get mugged in the morning.

Why?

Because, kid, the world is a messed up place. People get mugged all the time, and so we’re lucky we’re not them.

Why?

Because…just because.

Why?

Why not?

~~La Stranezza

8 thoughts on “Why and Why Not?

Say Anything

